Changes and Lessons

Posted: October 10, 2012 in Uncategorized

I had the honour of hosting my bestie at my place for 2 nights this week. Best 2 nights i have had in a long time. It was almost as if we were back to the small house we shared on Riara road 6 years ago. When we were both innocent and starting out in life. Our lives have changed so much and the boys we thought would grow old with us have changed too. Life is a series of changes and we must learn to change with it. Change is uncomfortable, but it teaches.

I have learned that no matter how thin you slice it, there are always two sides. Dont believe everything you read or hear. I’ve learned that it’s a lot easier to react than it is to think. I’ve learned that either you control your attitude or it controls you. I’ve learned that maturity has more to do with the types of experiences you’ve had and what you’ve learned from them and less to do with how many birthdays you’ve celebrated. I’ve learned that quantity is not as important as quality when it comes to best friends. I’ve learned that it isn’t enough to be forgiven by others, sometimes you have to learn to forgive yourself. I’ve learned that no matter how bad your heart is broken, the world will not stop for your grief. I’ve learned that background and circumstances might have influenced who you are, but we are responsible for who we become. I’ve learned that you can’t make someone love you, all you can do is be someone who can be loved. I’ve learned although the word “love” can have many meanings, it loses value when overly used. I’ve learned that no matter how old or wise you think you are, life never stops teaching.

I can’t say i’m proud of my life, but i can say i’m proud that i’ve learned. I’ve learned that i can’t rely on everyone.I know some things don’t work out, but i know everything that has, has been for the better.I can’t guarantee i’ll be able to walk around with a smile, but i know where i’ve been and where i’m going.I know who i am and who my friends are. I’ve had some tough stuff thrown at me, but i’ve gotten by.i’m not one to complain so i’ll keep trying and in the end, i’ll know i did my best!!

“Only the dead have seen the end of war.”  – Plato

Leave a Reply

